SB 1117 Explained: ADU Impact Fees Above 750 Sq Ft (2027)

TL;DR

SB 1117 (Cervantes), Chapter 809, Statutes of 2026, takes effect January 1, 2027. For up to two ADUs on a lot, a California city may charge impact fees on an ADU over 750 square feet only on the interior livable space above 750, still in proportion to the main house. An 800 square foot ADU is charged on 50 square feet.

Bill: SB 1117Effective: January 1, 2027Code: Gov. Code 66311.5

Last verified: October 22, 2026 against the chaptered text and status page of SB 1117 (Chapter 809, Statutes of 2026) and Government Code Section 66000 at leginfo.legislature.ca.gov, read through a page parser because the site blocks direct reads from our build environment.

SB 1117 in One Paragraph

SB 1117 is Senate Bill 1117 of the 2025-2026 session, by Senator Cervantes. The Governor approved it on September 29, 2026, and it was chaptered that day as Chapter 809, Statutes of 2026. It amends one section, Government Code 66311.5, and takes effect January 1, 2027. Before SB 1117, an ADU of 750 square feet or less paid no impact fees, and a bigger one paid on its whole floor area. After SB 1117, a bigger ADU pays only on the square feet above 750, for up to two ADUs on a lot. The bill says it applies to charter cities too.

What SB 1117 Changes in the Impact Fee Formula

Here is the rule, in the statute’s words, Section 66311.5(c)(1)(B): for up to two ADUs on a lot, impact fees on an ADU over 750 square feet “shall be charged proportionately in relation to the square footage of the primary dwelling unit, and only on the area in excess of 750 square feet of interior livable space.”

RuleThrough December 31, 2026From January 1, 2027Section
ADU of 750 sq ft or lessNo impact feeNo impact fee66311.5(c)(1)(A)
JADU of 500 sq ft or lessNo impact feeNo impact fee66311.5(c)(1)(A)
ADU over 750 sq ft, one or two ADUs on the lotProportionate to the main house, on the whole ADUProportionate to the main house, only on the area above 750 sq ft66311.5(c)(1)(B)
ADU over 750 sq ft, three or more ADUs on the lotProportionate, whole ADUUnchanged: proportionate, whole ADU66311.5(c)(1)(C)

The statute does not write out the arithmetic. The common way cities read “proportionately” is the ADU’s square footage divided by the main house’s, applied to what the city charges a new single-family home. Under SB 1117, that reading becomes:

Fee = city’s single-family impact fee x (ADU interior livable sq ft minus 750) / main house sq ft

Treat that formula as our illustration of the statutory wording, not a rule your city must use. Interior livable space is the measure SB 543 defined in Section 66313(e), so exterior walls do not count.

ADU Impact Fees Before and After SB 1117 (Worked Examples)

These examples use an 1,800 square foot main house and three common ADU sizes. Because cities publish different fee bases, the table shows the share of a city’s single-family impact fee the ADU pays, plus a dollar column for every $10,000 of single-family fee so you can scale it to your city. Every number is computed by the same helper the test suite checks.

ADU impact fee share before and after SB 1117, 1,800 sq ft main house
ADU size2026 share of single-family fee2027 share (SB 1117)Per $10,000 of single-family fee: 2026 vs 2027
800 sq ft44.4%2.8%$4,444 vs $278
1,000 sq ft55.6%13.9%$5,556 vs $1,389
1,200 sq ft66.7%25.0%$6,667 vs $2,500

Illustration: 1,800 sq ft main house, one or two ADUs on the lot, fee read as ADU square footage over main-house square footage. Gov. Code 66311.5(c)(1) as amended by SB 1117. Not any city's fee schedule.

The 800 square foot row is the one to look at. Under 2026 rules, going from 750 to 800 square feet flipped you from no fee to a fee on all 800 square feet. Under SB 1117 you pay on 50. Campbell is the clearest local example of the old cliff: its FY 2026-27 schedule charges a $9,328 park in-lieu fee on an ADU of 750 square feet or more and $0 below that. Campbell has not published a revised schedule for 2027 as of October 22, 2026, so we are not computing a new Campbell figure.

Which Fees SB 1117 Does and Does Not Cover

SB 1117 only changes “impact fees,” and the section defines that term narrowly. Here is what the text supports.

ChargeDoes SB 1117 change it?WhySection
Impact fees (Mitigation Fee Act), including park fees under Section 66477Yes: charged only on the area above 750 sq ft, for up to two ADUs”Impact fee” means a Section 66000(b) fee, plus Section 66477 fees66311.5(c)(1)(B), (c)(2)
Water and sewer connection fees and capacity chargesNoExpressly excluded from “impact fee.” Separate rules apply: a converted ADU generally cannot be charged a new connection fee, and other ADUs may be, proportionate to square feet or plumbing fixture units66311.5(c)(2), (d), (e)
School feesSB 1117 is silentThe section’s school paragraph ties school fees to Education Code 17620 and a 500 sq ft threshold, which SB 1117 did not describe changing66311.5(c)(3)
Plan check and permit processing feesNoSection 66000(b) excludes “fees for processing applications for governmental regulatory actions or approvals”66000(b)
Taxes, such as a construction taxNoSection 66000(b) covers monetary exactions “other than a tax”66000(b)

So SB 1117 will not lower your building permit or plan check bill. For those, see our ADU permit cost guide.

Does SB 1117 Apply to Your ADU?

  • Is the ADU more than 750 square feet of interior livable space? If not, you already pay no impact fees, and SB 1117 changes nothing for you.
  • How many ADUs are on the lot? One or two: SB 1117 applies. Three or more: the old whole-unit rule still applies to any ADU over 750 square feet.
  • Is it a JADU? A JADU of 500 square feet or less pays no impact fees, before or after.
  • Is your city a charter city? It is covered. The bill includes a statewide-concern finding that applies it to charter cities.
  • When is your fee assessed? This is the open question. SB 1117 does not say whether the 2027 rule turns on your application date, your permit issuance or when the city assesses the fee. If you are applying in late 2026 for an ADU over 750 square feet, ask your city in writing which date it uses.

How California Cities Charge ADU Impact Fees Today

This table pulls the published fee lines we already hold for each city, from each city’s own fee schedule, and sorts them by whether SB 1117 reaches them. We checked for SB 1117 guidance or a revised ADU fee schedule on October 22, 2026 and found none.

City / CountyStatusPublished fee lineIs it an impact fee SB 1117 changes?Fee or timeline if publishedSourceOur guide
CampbellNo revised schedule as of Oct 22, 2026Park in-lieu fee, $0 under 750 sq ft, $9,328 at 750 sq ft or largerYes, the one impact-type fee in this listFY 2026-27, effective July 1, 2026Campbell Master Fee ScheduleCampbell ADU permits
Los AngelesNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026Park fee (LAMC 12.33) and Affordable Housing Linkage Fee, $0 at any sizeAlready $0, so no changeNot applicableOur Los Angeles permit page (LADBS and LAMC)Los Angeles ADU permits
San JoseNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026Building Division fee, $3,323 (0 to 750 sq ft) or $5,151 (751 to 1,200 sq ft)No: a permit fee tier, not an impact feeFY 2024-25 schedule, latest we could confirmSan Jose fee scheduleSan Jose ADU permits
Los AltosNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026$0 building permit and plan check; $0.42 per sq ft construction tax (LAMC Chapter 3.24)No: a tax, outside the definitionFY 2025-26 scheduleOur Los Altos permit pageLos Altos ADU permits
SunnyvaleNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026Plan check at 70% of the building permit fee; $268 Miscellaneous Plan Permit over 800 sq ftNo: processing feesFY 2026-27 scheduleSunnyvale Master Fee ScheduleSunnyvale ADU permits
Santa ClaraNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026$306 flat Architectural Review / ADU feeNo: processing feeEffective July 1, 2026Our Santa Clara permit pageSanta Clara ADU permits
BerkeleyNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026$500 neighbor notification; $250 address assignmentNo: processing feesNot statedOur Berkeley permit pageBerkeley ADU permits
Long BeachNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026$115 processing fee; 6% technology and General Plan surchargesNo: processing feesNot statedOur Long Beach permit pageLong Beach ADU permits
Los GatosNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026$0 use and occupancy clearanceNo: processingEffective July 1, 2026Our Los Gatos permit pageLos Gatos ADU permits
San DiegoNo SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026None heldNot publishedNot publishedWeb search, Oct 22, 2026San Diego ADU costs
Orange County (unincorporated)No SB 1117 guidance found as of Oct 22, 2026None heldNot publishedNot publishedWeb search, Oct 22, 2026Not covered yet

The pattern is the interesting part. Most of the dollar lines cities publish for ADUs are processing fees and permit tiers, which SB 1117 does not touch. The fees it does reach, park, traffic and facilities impact fees, are often buried in a separate development impact fee schedule, so check that schedule, not just the building permit page.

Cities did not love this bill. The City of La Verne’s April 2, 2026 opposition letter argued it further limits a city’s ability to recover the cost of new demand on local infrastructure and services.

Should You Size Your ADU Differently in 2027?

For years the rule of thumb was simple: stay at 750 square feet or under and skip impact fees entirely. SB 1117 turns that cliff into a slope. From January 1, 2027, going from 750 to 800 square feet adds a fee on 50 square feet, not 800.

That said, it is still a slope that points one way. At 1,000 or 1,200 square feet you still pay on 250 or 450 square feet, so the worked table above is worth running against your own main house. My honest take: design to the bedroom count you need and let the fee follow. If 800 square feet is what makes a real two-bedroom work, the fee penalty for that extra 50 is now small. Two things SB 1117 does not change are the 800 square foot size a city must allow for a detached ADU and the 850 or 1,000 square foot floors; see California ADU size limits.

How SB 1117 Fits With AB 956 and SB 543

  • AB 956, also effective January 1, 2027, lets a single-family lot have two detached ADUs by right, each up to 800 square feet. That is exactly the “up to two ADUs on a lot” SB 1117 covers. Add a third ADU, say a garage conversion, and SB 1117’s lower formula stops applying to any unit over 750.
  • SB 543 (2025) defined interior livable space at Section 66313(e) and moved the ADU fee rules to Section 66311.5. SB 1117 builds on both. Our California ADU law tracker covers SB 543 and every 2026 bill.
  • SB 1211 lets a multifamily lot add up to eight detached ADUs. On a lot with more than two ADUs, the whole-unit fee rule in Section 66311.5(c)(1)(C) applies.
  • For what an ADU costs to build at these sizes, see the 800 sq ft ADU cost guide, the 1,000 sq ft ADU cost guide and the California ADU cost page. For the full statewide rules, see the California ADU law and permits pillar.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SB 1117 in California?

SB 1117 is a 2026 California law, Chapter 809, Statutes of 2026, that amends Government Code Section 66311.5. For up to two ADUs on a lot, it limits impact fees on an ADU over 750 square feet to the interior livable space above 750.

When does SB 1117 take effect?

January 1, 2027. The Governor approved SB 1117 on September 29, 2026, and it has no urgency clause. The statute does not say whether the date that matters is your application or when the fee is assessed, so ask your city.

Are ADUs under 750 square feet exempt from impact fees in California?

Yes. An ADU of 750 square feet or less of interior livable space, or a JADU of 500 square feet or less, pays no impact fees under Government Code Section 66311.5(c)(1)(A). That was true before SB 1117 and stays true after.

How do you calculate impact fees on an ADU?

An ADU over 750 square feet is charged in proportion to the main house’s square footage. From 2027, with one or two ADUs on the lot, only the square feet above 750 count. A common reading is the single-family fee times (ADU size minus 750) divided by the main house size.

What are the fees for an ADU permit in California?

Permit and plan check fees vary by city and are separate from impact fees. Our ADU permit cost guide lists published city fee lines. SB 1117 does not change permit processing fees.

Does SB 1117 reduce school fees or utility connection fees?

No. Connection fees and capacity charges are expressly excluded from the impact fees SB 1117 changes, and SB 1117 is silent on school fees, which follow Education Code 17620 and a 500 square foot threshold.

Does SB 1117 apply to a third ADU on my lot?

No. With more than two ADUs on a lot, any ADU over 750 square feet is still charged in proportion to the main house on its whole floor area, under Section 66311.5(c)(1)(C).

Sources

  1. California Legislature, SB 1117 (2025-2026), chaptered bill text: https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=202520260SB1117
  2. California Legislature, SB 1117 (2025-2026), status (Chapter 809, Statutes of 2026): https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billStatusClient.xhtml?bill_id=202520260SB1117
  3. California Government Code, Section 66311.5: https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=66311.5.&lawCode=GOV
  4. California Government Code, Section 66000 (definition of “fee”): https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=66000.&lawCode=GOV
  5. City of Campbell, FY 2026-27 Master Fee Schedule: https://www.campbellca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/29705
  6. City of La Verne, Opposition to SB 1117 (April 2, 2026): https://laverneca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4888/Opposition-SB-1117

Disclaimer

This page is general information, not legal advice. SB 1117 takes effect January 1, 2027, and each city applies it through its own fee schedules. Confirm your fees, and the date your city uses, with your local planning department before you finalize a design.

Related ADU laws

Other laws and rules in the same silo, kept in step as each one goes live.

CaliforniaNew California ADU LawsCalifornia signed ten housing bills in 2026 that matter to ADU owners, most effective January 1, 2027. AB 956 allows two detached ADUs on a single-family lot instead of one, and SB 1117 limits impact fees to the space above 750 square feet. Others cap plan check at two rounds and ease prefab rules.CaliforniaAB 956 ExplainedAB 956 (Quirk-Silva), Chapter 791, Statutes of 2026, takes effect January 1, 2027. It requires every California city to approve two detached, new-construction ADUs by right on a lot with a single-family home, up from one. A city may cap each at 800 square feet of livable space.CaliforniaHow Big Can an ADU Be in California? ADU Size Limits (2026-2027 Updates)California law requires cities to allow an ADU of at least 850 square feet for a studio or one bedroom, and 1,000 square feet for two or more bedrooms, under Government Code Section 66321. A detached ADU of up to 800 square feet is allowed by right. Interior livable space is measured under SB 543, effective January 1, 2026.CaliforniaSB 1211 ExplainedSB 1211 is a California ADU law by Senator Skinner, chaptered September 19, 2024 and effective January 1, 2025. It allows up to eight detached ADUs on a lot with an existing multifamily dwelling, capped at the number of existing units on the lot. It amended Government Code Sections 66313, 66314 and 66323.CaliforniaAB 2533 ExplainedCalifornia's AB 2533 took effect January 1, 2025 and amended Government Code Section 66332. It bars a local agency from denying a permit to legalize an unpermitted ADU or JADU built before January 1, 2020, unless correcting a violation is necessary to fix a Health and Safety Code 17920.3 substandard condition.